Statements

I was walking around a bookstore today and stumbled across a book that slightly offended me, purely by the idea of it. It was a book designed to give people ideas for graffiti . I love street art, I think it is a beautiful form of expression. But it is inherently that:  expression. I suppose I imagine the audience for this book to be those who want to make a mark but don’t yet have a statement to make. And I can’t help but feel that it should implicitly be those who have something to say that should be speaking up, so to speak.

About justsomecollegekid

Specifically anonymous, sorry if that is a bit off, but I do it so that I can get feedback as though my writing were completely removed from myself. As such, I would love to hear your feedback, good or bad. Many Thanks. View all posts by justsomecollegekid

One response to “Statements

  • christinaonwheels

    Could it also be that a book on giving people ideas on graffiti is a way of connecting us by giving those who aren’t usually exposed to it a way of experiencing it without the financial burden of travel? What book was it that you were looking at? I agree with you that if you have something to say, speak up. But what about those who aren’t afforded the means to do so? Could the book be the author’s way of being able to have a conversation with those people? In my city, the mayor has a ‘mission’ to rid the street of what he calls vandalism by ordering anybody whose commercial property has been ‘defaced’ to clean it up within a certain time frame and I think that’s another way of stifling the conversation between unseen conversants.

Leave a Reply

