Reactions

Does psuedo-urgent news create a fatalistic society? I’m sitting here, enjoying a fine evening, and up comes the news with a new report on how people could all start dying. I’m sure that if I cared to finish watching it, it would go on to slowly reveal the minimal possibility of this latest danger. I don’t mean for this to be some depressing digression on the nature of dim broadcasts or nihilistic life views, I’m more bemusedly commenting on how I compare my own ‘Live now!’ mentality with the echoing news reports that I now recognize as coming in from all angles. I’ve developed over the years the idea, grim as it may be, that I should live life to its absolute capacity for the simple reason that life is full of chances. I could live to be ninety, I could be hit by a bus tomorrow. These are the headlines linking soda to cancer, and vague possibilities to real threats. What if people were told that we had years to live? What if people stepped back from all the negativity and realized exactly all the options out there in life? How restricted are we by the information placed before us, irrelevant or not? A lot of open-ended questions, that I don’t really need answered, but would like considered. Thoughts?

About justsomecollegekid

Specifically anonymous, sorry if that is a bit off, but I do it so that I can get feedback as though my writing were completely removed from myself. As such, I would love to hear your feedback, good or bad. Many Thanks. View all posts by justsomecollegekid

6 responses to “Reactions

  • Harry

    I don’t know who your comment in the forum was for, but i’m here 🙂

    Writing has to be easy to read, your’s is not. Break all your posts up into paragraphs, thats what the readers want. Long posts like yours ( as they are now ) will turn people off.
    Sorry, Harry.

  • Harry

    No problem, the other thing i would do is swap categories and archives.

    Also you don’t have a follow button in your sidebar for non-wordpress people.

    Go around other blogs and comment the more the better then i will get visitors and followers 🙂

  • christinaonwheels

    Hi there, just wanted to comment again (and perhaps offer a different perspective.) I remember reading the story of a Canadian who was kidnapped for political reasons. He commented that the day he was freed, he was able to see the sun streaming through the leaves on a tree and thought it to be the most beautiful thing because of how perfectly, yet chaotically, it was displayed. Is there a way we could do that in our day-to-day lives, or would it be sensory overload? (Also, I really like your writing- how you’re able to take one facet of life and expand it to larger proportions without making the words heavy. Keep it up!)

Leave a Reply

